Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

0

13047090Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

Publish Date: May 3rd, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

2

13047090Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

Publish Date: May 5th, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

Continue reading

Review: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

6

13047090Title: Water for Elephants

Author: Sara Gruen

Series: none

Publisher: Algonquin Books

Publish Date: May 1st, 2007

Genres: Adult, Fiction

Orphaned, penniless, Jacob Jankowski jumps a freight train in the dark, and in that instant, transforms his future.

By morning, he’s landed a job with the Flying Squadron of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. By nightfall, he’s in love.

In an America made colourless by prohibition and the Depression, the circus is a refuge of sequins and sensuality. But behind the glamour lies a darker world, where both animals and men are dispensable. Where falling in love is the most dangerous act of all…

Continue reading

Review: The Angel Experiment

0

Book Review13047090Title: Maximum Ride

Author: James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

Series: Maximum Ride Series

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publish Date: May 5th, 2006

Genres: Children’s Literature (Middle Grades), Adventure

Six unforgettable kids — with no families, no homes — are running for their lives. Max Ride and her best friends have the ability to fly. And that’s just the beginning of their amazing powers. But they don’t know where they come from, who’s hunting them, why they are different from all other humans… and if they’re meant to save mankind — or destroy it.

Continue reading

Review: The Scorpio Races

2

Book Review13047090Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series: none

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publish Date: October 18th, 2011

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Continue reading

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

2

Book Review


20820994Title:
 I’ll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Publish Date: September 16th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT themes

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

 

Continue reading

Review: Me Before You

2

Book Review13047090Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Series: Me Before You Series

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Publish Date: January 5th, 2012

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Continue reading