Review: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

6

13047090Title: Water for Elephants

Author: Sara Gruen

Series: none

Publisher: Algonquin Books

Publish Date: May 1st, 2007

Genres: Adult, Fiction

Orphaned, penniless, Jacob Jankowski jumps a freight train in the dark, and in that instant, transforms his future.

By morning, he’s landed a job with the Flying Squadron of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. By nightfall, he’s in love.

In an America made colourless by prohibition and the Depression, the circus is a refuge of sequins and sensuality. But behind the glamour lies a darker world, where both animals and men are dispensable. Where falling in love is the most dangerous act of all…

Continue reading

Review: The Angel Experiment

0

Book Review13047090Title: Maximum Ride

Author: James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

Series: Maximum Ride Series

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publish Date: May 5th, 2006

Genres: Children’s Literature (Middle Grades), Adventure

Six unforgettable kids — with no families, no homes — are running for their lives. Max Ride and her best friends have the ability to fly. And that’s just the beginning of their amazing powers. But they don’t know where they come from, who’s hunting them, why they are different from all other humans… and if they’re meant to save mankind — or destroy it.

Continue reading

Review: The Scorpio Races

2

Book Review13047090Title: The Scorpio Races

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series: none

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publish Date: October 18th, 2011

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Continue reading

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun

2

Book Review


20820994Title:
 I’ll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Publish Date: September 16th, 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT themes

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once

 

Continue reading

Review: Me Before You

2

Book Review13047090Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Series: Me Before You Series

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Publish Date: January 5th, 2012

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Continue reading

Review: Me Before You

8

Book Review
Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)Title
: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Series: Me Before You Series

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Publish Date: December 31st, 2012

Genres: Adult, Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

 

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Continue reading

Review: The Program

4

Book Review13047090Title: The Program

Author: Suzanne Young

Series: The Program Series Series

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publish Date: April 30th, 2013

Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult

In this “gripping tale for lovers of dystopian romance” (Kirkus Reviews), true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in.

And The Program is coming for them.

Continue reading